Submitted A New Story!

Okay! I just did it! OMG!

I just submitted another story to Dreamspinner Press.

I am so nervous about this one even though I’ve sold them two stories already. This story is pretty different. A little bit out there! But then, I am answering a call for submissions about first contact stories, where there is “romance among the stars.”

Science fiction has been and probably will always be my first love when it comes to fiction. Weirdly enough, the very morning I got the email telling me I had made my first sale, I got an idea for a story. A science fiction story about first contact.

I didn’t know what the hell I was going to do with the idea, but I am learning not to block the creative flow. Personally I believe that is the Creator working through me and if I don’t write it, I am blocking the creative flow. For those who don’t believe in such stuff, the advise is still good! Write write write!

Anyway, I wrote several pages, transcribed it when I got home, and then wrote some more. Then just a few days later..!

(insert Twilight Zone music here)

…I see Dreamspinner has a new call for submissions for… Yup! First contact stories!

Here is their call to submissions for an anthology called Making Contact Here is their info for the call:

    Making Contact
    Edited by Lynn West

    We want stories of love that is literally out of this world! Give us galaxy soldiers, space pirates, traveling aliens, intrepid explorers, and more. We’re looking for romance among the shooting stars, love that matches the glory of the spheres, and passion that burns like the largest of suns, where making first contact takes on a whole new meaning.

    Length: 3,500 – 12,000 words (manuscripts shorter or longer will be considered but will have to be extraordinary)

    Call for Submissions: March 15, 2010
    Submission Deadline: May 14, 2010
    Publication Date: Aug. 2, 2010


So, the furshlugginer thing is finally done, and I am sending it off!

Thanks SO much to my betas, . and ,who did an absolutely AMAZING job!

, I haven’t forgotten to help you! I have just gone crazy the last week editing and re-writing AND celebrating my BIG birthday!

So, wish me luck on this story. I am really pleased and excited about it. Like I said, it is a bit out there, but my beta’s seemed to like it!

Namasté!

Leave a Reply

