The Real Thing

So I am utterly thrilled. Yesterday, around two o’clock in the afternoon, I sent off another story to Dreamspinner Press. The story—which is called The Real Thing—is a contemporary cowboy story written for their anthology, “Riding Double.” They described their wants thusly:

The romantic allure of the cowboy is unparalleled. These sweaty, dusty icons of the West, past and present, still melt hearts and speed pulses, whether the man’s wearing a ten-gallon hat, chaps and spurs, or nothing at all. We want to read about how love softens the most hardened country rider and how passion fires the most stoic ramrod’s blood. Give us romance with a Western flair, because in this anthology, these men will be riding double into the sunset.

They are just one publisher in three looking for such stories!

So I gave it a try and The Real Thing is a story I am quite proud of. I went and spent a day and a night on a real ranch which is owned by a gay couple I know. I learned a lot. Things I would never have expected.

Now the thing is, the deadline was a week ago, and they were willing to let me send it in late—what with my vacation to go see my Mom and the fact that now I am in the overtime from hell at work (12-hour labor intensive days). I come home each day utterly exhausted, so the story took me far, far longer to write than others its same length.

Then to my shock, at 11:35:24 last night, I am sitting at my computer and I get an email with a contract!

WOW. Less than twelve hours and I have a contract. First story of the year, nine stories in less than a year.

And it will be in print! There will be a real physical copy!

    Hi BG,

    I’m happy to say that I’d like to include your story, “The Real Thing,” in the Riding Double anthology, which is scheduled for release on February 18, 2011. Attached is a contract… …I hope to get an initial edited version of the story back to you in the next few weeks.

    Thanks again for your submission. I’m looking forward to working with you on Riding Double.

    Anne

Leap and the net will appear. Isn’t that what I say?

*sighs happily*

Thank you SO much to for her kick-ass editing and working late to get it done. (((HUGS)))

The anthology will be available around February 18th! I’ll keep you all in the loop!

Namasté,
BG Thomas

11 thoughts on “The Real Thing

  1. Congratulations!!! 😀

    So excited for you, can’t wait to buy a copy, I so prefer print books, even though I love my Kindle. 🙂

    Keep reminding us about the publishing date.

    • Thank you thank you. And yes, I will certainly let people know when the book is ready. A real book! And one day I will actually sign an autograph! A real one! *Squeeee!* Am I bad?

  2. Congratulations, I think one can say for sure that your dream came true. To get a contract that fast, I think that´s a great honor and shows how good your stories are.
    A REAL book this time, I can´t tell you how much I appreciate that!

Leave a Reply

