Look At Me! Horseback Riding!

So yesterday I had the most wonderful opportunity ~ and a simply terrific afternoon.

My friends Julie and Mike had me out horseback riding! I wasn’t sure what I was going to get to do, but just meeting their horses would have been a treat and wonderful real-life research for my new story (which has no name). Julie told me she hoped I could ride her horse, and that Mike would lead me around.

WELL! As it turned out I not only got to ride her and be led, but I was a pretty good student and Mike was able to take of the lead rope and step away and I rode Mystic all over that arena. She was incredibly responsive, zigging and zagging to my heart’s content. I learned SO much.

This is going to be just brilliant for my new story, about a lonely widower who goes with his extended family to a dude ranch, the last place on Earth he ever thought he would want to spend his vacation. Boy, does he learn different.

Mystic was a wonderful, wonderful horse, and stunningly beautiful. Look for Mystic in my story! I’ve already made some changes. She also inspired lots of stuff and a whole new chapter. Trying to write this story I realized I needed to at least go somewhere and see some horses and talk to owners about them. I did a whole lot more.

I am just a lucky, lucky guy!

Now if only it hadn’t snowed last night and this morning! I thought we were done with that! It is already 34° with a high of 41° later. Maybe it will go away and not hurt my miniature iris (tiny tiny flowers). It is supposed to be 71° by St Patrick’s Day (this Thursday)! Hey, at least it should keep me in and writing!

Have a great day all!
Namasté,
BG

6 thoughts on “Look At Me! Horseback Riding!

  1. “Look at me. Now look at your man. Now back at me. I’m on a horse…”

    Awesome, Ben. I really miss riding, too. You lucky dog.

    Also… do you have plans next Saturday? We’re having a Star Trek party at my place. 😀

  2. Hey! Look at you!! That’s so awesome! I haven’t been riding in years. A neighbour down the street from me, who I became good friends with, started giving me riding lessons on her horse, unfortunately her and her partner split up, sold the house and the horse, and I haven’t been on one since then. I’m so glad you had a great time and that it gave you inspiration for your story!! Can’t wait to read your changes! And the rest of it, too ;D

    *hugs*

  3. That expression makes you look like you’re six. Six and have just conquered something so big you believe you can take on the whole world.

    BTW: when is ConTraception this year? I need to put in for vacation.

Leave a Reply

