Everything is Amazing! I’m in New York City!!

So far my trip has been utterly amazing!

Left early yesterday morning and got in before noon. The flyover Manhattan was breathtaking!

Got to the hotel, immediately starting meeting the whole Dreamspinner Press staff and it was all I could do not to cry. Relax. Happy cry, not sad cry. Everyone has been so wonderful! The hugs! Elizabeth, the co-publisher of DSP, hugged so hard and tight! I felt like our hearts touched. And Lynn! OH!! And Julianne! So kind and darling and sweet and beautiful!

We went to a Walgreen’s to get pop and booze and stuff and the walk back just about killed me. Took me hours to feel better. Really. But on the walk back, way at the end of a street, I saw the silhouettes of both the Empire State Building and the Chrysler Building. Took my breath away again.

We had the most amazing “Meet and Greet” last night where I met almost everyone who is supposed to be here. We talked, we laughed, we bonded, we got bombed. Free booze!

Today was workshops all day and I am tired, but I don’t dare take a nap! What if I oversleep! We are going in for a dinner at a club called “Lips” where drag queens serve you and perform. About eight of us.

OH! And I found out today I sold my newest story, It Had to Be You! I guess they really liked it and that makes me so happy! I was warned that the edits might be tough with all the historical stuff, but that’s fine.

I have also promised Elizabeth my first novel by July 1st! SO exciting! She wants the novel and is counting on it. She does consider this a promise. I have to do this. It’s my reputation.

There is still quite a few days left. Tomorrow is the huge Rainbow Book Fair. If I can, I am hearing there a shift early since it is in The Village. OMG! The Village! Can you imagine??

Then the RBF and back here. The next day I meet Matt! OMG!

Well, I will post again if I can!

LOVE you all,
BG

2 thoughts on “Everything is Amazing! I’m in New York City!!

  1. It all sounds awesome! I’m so glad you’re having a great time! And CONGRATULAIONS on the sale of It Had To Be You and the acceptance of your first novel! How wonderful! I’m very excited for you *big hugs*

    Enjoy the rest of your time in NYC!

    Love ya!

Leave a Reply

