Something Utterly Amazing Happened to Me Tonight…A Fan Letter That Has Moved Me to Tears

Something Utterly Amazing Happened to Me Tonight…

…I am just stunned and there are tears on my face. You hear about this happening to writers, but I never thought it would happen to me. A letter from a fan…

********

Dear Mr. Thomas,

Ken Kimberling, here, and I just finished the aforementioned book, AAIASOR. The timing of this particular read is heaven sent. I have been writing for years, but have yet to finish a single work, thinking of it as a waste of time and pure folly.

At 57, I have been out for over two decades to everyone except my sweet, wonderful, but devoutly religious, deep-dipped, fundamentalist Charismatic Christian mother, who has cast out the demon of homosexuality for hundreds of parishioners since I was 15.

I have stayed silent for more than a decade at the behest of my baby sister, with whom I’ve shared a home these past 23 years. Until September 9, 2013, the night of said sister’s 50th birthday. Great timing on my part, huh?

Nonetheless, I am free at last. The elephant in the room has cast a pall in my life that I could no longer live with. Until I could use my real name, I could not seriously consider penning anything that expressed what I want to say.

Then along came AAIASOR. What a roadmap for such a novice as me?! Thank you for the inspiration! I started over Sunday morning. Just one sentence, but Jesus, Mary, Joseph, and All The Saints! I can be authentic for the first time in almost six decades.

I just needed to say thank you. You have no idea what you have done for me. I’m a designer in Arkansas, and pretty damned good, if I do say so myself. But I am a wordsmith at heart. You have given me hope, and I will be forever in your debt.

Deepest Regards,
Ken Kimberling

*********

I will never be the same,
Namasté,
BG Thomas

3 thoughts on “Something Utterly Amazing Happened to Me Tonight…A Fan Letter That Has Moved Me to Tears

  1. Oh Ben, that letter is just magical. How wonderful for Ken that he is now true to himself and not living a lie and how amazing that you helped him achieve that.

    *HUGS* for you and Ken. 😀

  2. Fan Letter

    Wow! How great to learn you’ve had a positive influence on a reader. I’ve read a couple of your stories, but not AAIASOR yet. That might be my next one.

    Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

