I Want to Thank Everyone Again–You Are Making My Dreams Come True!

I want to thank my many friends and readers for making that magick happen. You have made ALL my wishes and dreams come true! We have plane tickets, we have the nights in the hotel, we even have wedding bands! Who would have known when I thought my dreams were crushed and we would not be able to get married that people would donate money to help it all happen?

Years ago I read a science fiction story in which a man is about to board a spaceship and head out to the stars. Before he leaves he stops at a space station and he has dinner with a married couple–two men. I smiled, I sighed, I said, “Two men married?? Ah well, it’s science fiction. And who knows, maybe one day…?”

And now, in two weeks I will be legally married…to a man. It’s real!

You know, I am married. I have been since November 5th, 2005. I couldn’t be more committed, more with him than I am now. But it isn’t “legal.” We have none of the rights that every married couple has. Do you know how it feels to have to check off the “Single” box on every legal document I’ve ever have to sign? Medical papers. Hospital stays. Employment paperwork. Petitions. Everything? My taxes each year? Do you know what that FEELS like?

Every time I feel like I have betrayed and denied my husband. There is a sick feeling in my stomach and my heart aches.

I mean, I could check off “Married,” but I happen to know from legal authorities that I have spoken with that I could get myself in trouble for doing it. Sometimes a LOT of legal problems.

But in two weeks it will be legal. That little piece of paper will be filled out and signed and we will be just as married as any other couple who have made the same decision. I may decide not to file taxes as a couple, but everyone else in every other married situation can do that. I will have the ability to make that decision. I get to make the choice.

I have the choice.

We were talking the other night and I said something like, “I plan on being with you the rest of my life….”

He said: “You better, that’s why I am going through all this trouble to marry you.”

I made a silly off-handed comment about how people do get divorced. And HE said, “No. No divorce. We do this and it’s forever.”

For a man who isn’t very romantic, now and again he hits one out of the ballpark! I am so in love. No wonder I can write romance. I believe in it. And I believe in love.

And I believe in my fellow human being. I have seen overwhelming kindness and generosity. Over the last weeks I’ve spoken of the things that would make my wedding day perfect and people are making all my wishes and dreams come true. Plane tickets…all paid for. We bought wedding bands! Real gold, REAL wedding bands. I wanted anyone who looked down at my hand to know I was married.

Married!

And friends and my readers and people I’ve never met and may never, ever meet donated money and are making all of it come true!

And the magic continues!! Yes, it does!

I just called the Baltimore Hyatt Regency to reserve the second two nights and got this heterosexual man who went on and on about happy he was for us. He started fixing everything and got us a really wonderful rate…and told us we had a city view.

Me: Is the city view better or the harbor view.

Him: Oh, the harbor view! But I can’t get you all the discounts on that….

Me: Oh. Well, that’s okay. (Then yelling down to R in his man-cave I tell him what happened).

R: Which do you want? The harbor view or the city view.

Me: Well, the harbor view of course, but come on! How selfish am I supposed to get?

R: We’ll get the harbor view then!

Me: (to the Hyatt Man) He said it was okay to get the harbor view.

Him: Okay…but hmmmmmm….you might have to change rooms because the two nights that were gifted to you are city view.

Me: Okay then–never mind. Believe me, I am MORE than thrilled.

Him: Hold on a minute…. (puts me on hold a long time)

Him: Mr Thomas? I just spoke to the manager and I have it all fixed. You have a harbor view, for a hundred dollars less a night than I quoted you, and I have told them it’s your honeymoon and they are going to make sure it’s prefect!

Can you believe it? MAGICK! Totally and complete MAGICK!

This is meant to be! That worry I had about the layover? Pshaw! This is meant to be!

Thank you! I want to thank all of you who have wished us well and who contributed to the campaign. http://www.youcaring.com/other/let-s-help-one-of-our-own/188169

Thank you!
With all the love in my heart!
Namasté,
BG

Leave a Reply

