Release Party for “Summer Lover” at Midwest Men’s Festival

A

So I am home from the Midwest Men’s Festival 2014.And I had an amazing time! So very wonderful and so hard to come home!

I walked and walked and walked! I can hardly believe it! There were times I was in tears with joy and gratitude knowing that I COULD WALK! And for those of you who don’t know, in the last few years I have had both my knees replaced. It used to be that every single step was agony. And now? I can walk!

So much wonderful fellowship and new friends, including the simply amazing young man named Cameron.

I had my official release party for my new book, Summer Lover, and within ten minutes sold every copy that I brought with me! I can hardly believe it! And it was my first release party! It was so exciting and everyone was so supportive. Sold a chunk of my old books as well.

See, what was so exciting for me is that this event, Midwest Men’s Festival, was the inspiration for my book Summer Lover. MMF changed my life.

Here is what MMF says about itself:

Begun in 1982 as a regional gathering for men exploring changes in their lives and roles, Midwest Mens Festival has grown in size and scope over the years to encompass men from many parts of the nation, indeed the world, who represent diverse walks of life, age, and personal experience.

Although the Midwest Men’s Festival is attended primarily by gay men, many of whom are involved in earth-centered spirituality, men of varied cultural or ethnic backgrounds, sexual orientations, or spiritual beliefs are invited and encouraged to attend.

Festival provides a place where men can come together for sharing and individual growth, and it fosters interpersonal interactions and community building, while respecting boundaries and encouraging supportive, non-competitive self-expression. Festival is a pleasant place to have fun and create friendships. Whatever your sexuality, race, or creed, Festival can provide the opportunity to explore personal and collective growth, joy, nurturing, and change.

D

And Festival has done all those things for me and more. Which is why I had to write about it–sort of. I took liberties. But I have also had friends who attend and who read my book say some wonderful things about Summer Lover. Including that if he were to want to help someone who had never been to Festival what it was all about, he would have them read my book.

So how wonderful and miraculous that the official release party and release date happened at Midwest Men’s Festival! It was an amazing blessing!

Happy to be home but sad it will be a year before I see my close friends again!

Love,
BG

G
E
B

Leave a Reply

