Release Announced For Gothika #2: Bones

I am so excited and proud to announce the release date for Gothika #2; Bones will be October 27th, 2014.

Words can not express how happy I am to be a part of this anthology. Unlike other collections I have been a part of, this series will only have four to five authors for each volume. This means longer, deeper stories than you would find in a regular anthology.

Horror was probably my first love as I was growing up. I fell in love with spooky stories and knew that is what I wanted to do one day–write horror. Of course that didn’t exactly happen. Instead I’ve been writing stories that fall under the umbrella called MM Romance. I haven’t regretted it. I love it! But sometimes I get a hankering to write what started my desire to author in the first place. And then along came Gothika!

Gothika is the kind of horror I really love and not what seems to have taken over the genre in recent years. And that is stories and movies where everyone dies at the end. I hate that. And it is growing more and more prevalent. I don’t want that. I read horror for the same reasons I read adventures and mysteries and yes, romance. Because I wanted to see the characters triumph at the end! People say, “But it’s horror! The ending is supposed to be horrible.” To which I say poppycock!

Did Dracula suddenly rise and kill everyone at the end of his classic book? Did the little girl in “The Exorcist” suddenly get repossessed by the demon and kill her mother? Did the shark in “Jaws” kill our heroes? Did the ants in “Them” take over the world? Did The Walking Dude defeat our heroes in “The Stand?” How about the recent masterpiece “The Conjuring?” Horror stories do not have to end where everyone dies.

As a matter of fact, people can fall in love as well!

So this was wonderful. I got to write horror with gay characters as well as write a romance story. Happiness and bliss.

I was stunned when I was asked to join this anthology. I mean, just look at my fellow authors. I am going to be in a book with Eli Easton, Jamie Fessenden and Kim Fielding. My God! Have you read anything by these wonderful authors? If you have then you know why I am so excited.

Each volume of this series tackles a different subject. The first was called “Stitches” and dealt with the Frankenstein’s Monster theme. The second one is about voodoo. Oh did I love writing that story. Scared the crap out of me too. I did lots of research including interviewing real vodou houngans (priests) and monbos (priestesses). For a bit there my husband and I thought I had accidentally invited the Lwa in our house. Weird things were happening. Thankfully they stopped the night I emailed my story—called “Univited” approprietly enough—into Dreamspinner Press.

And for those that think the subject is a little too spooky? I will tell you this much. Hollywood has it all wrong. It is painted with prejudic and misunderstanding. Vodou is certainly not the religion of my choice. But it sure isn’t what I thought it was. If you’re curious what I mean, you’ll just have to read the book and find out!

Anyway, I hope you will mark your calendars. The book will be here just in time for Halloween. This is going to be awesome. Beyond awesome. It is going to be a blast.

Hauntingly yours,
BG

voodoo

Leave a Reply

