So For the First Time in Over Two Weeks….Coffee!

Man drinking coffee by Dave Suntown

So as some of you know I’ve been sick. Sick for weeks. I was sick before I went to Chicago but thought I was better. I wasn’t. I got worse on the flight back home. I thought I was better so I could go away with my husband on our big anniversary weekend (14 years!) and I wasn’t. And I didn’t even party that weekend. Made three cocktails and sipped them and threw them out. I slept half that weekend! I got home and I was worse. The doctor finally ordered me to take a week of bed rest and I am finally starting to feel human again. Just hoping I can go back to work and make it through the twelve hour shifts starting Thursday.

Anyway…. I haven’t even desired coffee…not really. And for my faithful, I think you all know how much I love coffee. For those of you who don’t know….I love coffee! It just sounded so….strong.

But this morning I made a pot of coffee (if you can call it that). It is only 20° outside and I just couldn’t take one more cup of tea. I think if I have another cup of tea I will transform into a tea bag. And it is so much more inconvenient than coffee. Coffee, I grind the beans, put it in the coffee maker and press a button and have cups of coffee for hours. With tea I have to wait until the water heats, wait until the bag seeps, and then I have only one cup of tea! If I drink it fast then I have to go through the whole process again.

I found I have liked tea (and better than I remember-even found the chamomile delightful with a bit of spiced rum) but tea takes way too much effort, especially when I’m sick. I don’t find it the least bit comforting (to make). I need a hunk to be making it for me!

(since R is at work after all)

So here I am drinking coffee and I have committed a sacrilege. I am drinking flavored coffee! *gasp!*

But it is Gevalia (which for mass-produced coffee isn’t too bad) and it’s German Chocolate Cake-flavored and it has lots of sweetener and milk and it is preparing me to leap back into coffee land. And I am reading a good book (Stephen King’s new book, Revival, and omg it is amazing–reminds me for some reason of The Body / Stand By Me). And Sarah Jane is curled up next to me. AND last night I actually worked on a new novel which I think could turn out to be one of the best things I’ve ever written.

So apparently I have passed through the dark tunnel and there was no train waiting for me on the other side, except to allow me to board aboard and take me to lands of lonely men finding love.

So three more days! Three days of resting, reading, writing, and cuddling with Sarah Jane. Not bad at all, even if I have to wear pajamas (which I also don’t do but it has been oddly comforting). I could get used to this.

Here is claiming the reality that in a year or so it will be my life. Writing full time and not being sick that is.

So love and light to you all!
And remember….
Leap and the net will appear!
BG Thomas

3 thoughts on “So For the First Time in Over Two Weeks….Coffee!

  1. I don’t like coffee. I don’t like hot tea much either. I stay warm with hot apple cider or hot chocolate. The only coffee I will drink is French Vanilla. Oh and a Caramel Latte..those are so good! I’m glad you’re on the mend Benbear. Much love and hugs!

    • Maybe it’s because you haven’t had good coffee like is served at The SHepherd’s Bean (or the store that inspired it–Oddly Correct)? Love you and HUGS right back!

Leave a Reply

