Sitting Here with the Husband Watching One of My Favorite Movies of All Time; Mary Poppins

And I really can so that. It came out when I was only four years old and I loved it then and I love it now. I can watch it over and over and over. I sit and quote along from beginning until the end, and of course I sing along. And I cry at the end every time.

I cried like a baby that first time. “I don’t want Mary Poppins to go!” I wailed.
“But now the kids can be with their father,” Mom explained.
“I don’t care! I want Mary Poppins to stay!”

You know P.L. Travers—the author—is said not to have liked the movie. I understand she didn’t want it made, at least by Disney. And she hated it was a musical. Which breaks my heart. It truly does. Mary Poppins is such a magickal film. How could it not have melted the ice that she set against it? Such a wonderful, sweet, delightful film.

Julie Andrews was the real magick in the movie of course. From the minute she floats down from the London sky, feet turned out in that crazy way, and blew all the other nannies away I was in love. And her voice! Oh my!

And I can’t forget Dick Van Dyke! Wow! His dancing is so amazing and xxx is one of the best dance numbers to this day.

Glynis Johns was delightful as the mother, the suffragette. Ed Wynn, who loves to laugh, makes me so happy. Reta Shaw and Hermione Baddeley were heartwarming as the servants. And of course the story would not be complete as David Tomlinson, the father, who proved we are never too old to grow up.

There’s no telling which song is my favorite. “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious” is right up there. Along with “Jolly Holiday” of course!

    Oh it’s a jolly ‘oliday with Mary
    Mary makes your ‘eart so light!
    When the day is gray and ordianry
    Mary makes the sun shine bright!
    Oh, ‘appiness is bloomin’ all around ‘er
    The daffodils are smilin’ at the dove
    When Mary ‘olds your ‘and
    You feel so grand
    Your ‘eart starts beatin’ like
    A big brass band!
    It’s a jolly ‘oliday with Mary
    No wonder that it’s Mary that we love!

But the song that holds a very special place in my heart is “Feed the Birds.” My heart swells to bursting….

    Feed the birds, tuppence a bag,
    Tuppence, tuppence, tuppence a bag
    “Feed the birds, ” that’s what she cries
    While overhead, her birds fill the skies
    All around the cathedral the saints and apostles
    Look down as she sells her wares.
    Although you can’t see it, you know they are smiling
    Each time someone shows that he cares
    Though her words are simple and few
    Listen, listen, she’s calling to you
    “Feed the birds, tuppence a bag
    Tuppence, tuppence, tuppence a bag

Love, love, love this movie. It awakened the magick in my heart as a four year old boy, and the magick has never gone away.

Love,
B.G.

PS: What are your favorite songs or moments in this lovely film?

9182_1

nanblow244b

mrs-banks-mary-poppins

mary_poppins_robin_inside

mary-poppins

2a href=”https://bthomaswriter.files.wordpress.com/2016/09/marypoppins.jpg”>marypoppins

mv5bmji5ntq1mje3nf5bml5banbnxkftztgwote3ntg3mde-_v1_cr025266150_al_ux477_cr00477268_al_

Leave a Reply

