I Am So Thankful to Have a Home

15218709_1193434167391868_106330828_n

So, after six hours on the road Wednesday to go see my mom (for the first time in two years), then two very full days there (I even had to have naps) and then a very full morning and a long drive back (for some reason it took a good hour and a half more) we are home. Tired. Worn out. But satiated and content.

And we are, after all, home. In a house. In our house. Tonight, we will be sleeping in our bed. The bed’s in Mom’s husband’s house are…well, as Goldlock’s said about Papa Bear’s bed…too hard. Tonight’s bed, even though it is this Daddy Bear’s bed, is just right.

I have to work tomorrow but I have time to get a good night’s sleep. And I think that I will. Yes, I do. In my bed.

I miss Mom already. I do. Very much. And hey! I have a mom!

My daughter doesn’t. Kaththea passed away two years ago and Jayli grieves deeply. I supposed she will for a long time. In fact, I know many people who don’t have a parent. Even both of them. Parents are an often neglected blessing. It’s easy to take them for granted.

And so is a roof over the head, whether it is an apartment or condo or dorm room or house. There are millions of people in this world who are homeless. Researching showed there are at least two thousand homeless people in Kansas City, 30% of them unsheltered. And our homeless situation is an all-time low. Many cities have far more homeless.

A place to stay and count as our own is a huge neglected blessing. People, myself included, take it for granted.

Not tonight. As I am home sweet home, and sitting here on my couch, in my living room, with my dog Sarah Jane cuddled up next to me, warm, and typing on my computer, with the two new Dreamspun Desires novels on the arm of said couch, and ready to make a relaxing cocktail, I can only see the tremendous amount of blessings I have in my life.

Today I am thankful for all of this and more in this time of Thanksgiving. An event I don’t see as some kind of money making campaign. I choose to see it as a reminder to be thankful for all that I’ve been given. And a hope that I can remember this all year long!

Thank You Universe,
Namasté,
Ben aka BG Thomas

Leave a Reply

