“Mele Kalikimaka” is Our Way to Say “Merry Christmas” to You!

So once again Ben (that’s me) is very excited. I’m excited a lot! But then I love life, even when it’s going through a rough patch. Yep! That’s me! LOL!

And today I am excited for a couple reasons. First, my new holiday story is now available to you, my wonderful constant readers. This tale is called “Mele Kalikimaka,” and for those of you who somehow haven’t heard the song, “Mele Kalikimaka” is Hawaii’s way to say Merry Christmas to you. But the song was only part of the inspiration for this tale.

So I was talking to my friend, up and coming writer, Noah Willoughby and I was telling him how I was trying to come up with an idea for this year’s Dreamspinner Advent Calander. I wanted to come up with something totally different that my previous holiday tales. Also, Noah and I had been talking for at least a year about the possibility of writing something together. And we somehow happened to be chatting how Christmas is celebrated a bit differently where he lived—Hawaii. Then quite suddenly it hit me! What if I got away from snow storms and snowmen and Santa working magick and wrote about Christmas in a place where it never gets cold and a snowflake is the last thing you’ll see? And wouldn’t this be the perfect opportunity to finally write my story with Noah?

And that’s how it began.

I am also excited because this is my first professional collaboration story. In fact I haven’t written anything with someone in…well…too many years to count. I was nervous too. Writing with someone can be a problem with egos and hurt feelings and one person thinking they should be in charge and on and on. But that didn’t happen! This story wrote itself as smooth as…lovely Hawaiian sand. The biggest problem was the scenes we wanted to write together. Noah is five years behind me! And we both work full time. Finding time slots where we were both awake and not at work was our biggest obstacle. But we did it! And I am so very proud of this story!

Want to know more? Well…here you go!

MELE KALIKIMAKA

Being rich has its advantages, but it is also rife with suffocating pressures and family telling Chandler Buckingham how to live his life. When his assistant offers to help him escape the mounting obligations of the holiday season by running away to Hawaii, Chandler jumps at the chance. Only to find nothing is quite as he’d expected.

Micah Keolu has lived in Hawaii all his life. He has to work two jobs and has little time for a social life, but his loving family and the island beauty around him have given him a heart as big as the ocean. And then one day he rescues a man trapped in an elevator in the building where Micah lives and works maintenance.

The unexpected happens as they find themselves drawn together, only to learn there is more to each other than meets the eye. Can two men from very different worlds find a way to enrich each other’s lives? Maybe the magic of the holidays just might bring them lasting joy!

A story from the Dreamspinner Press 2016 Advent Calendar “Bah Humbug.”

Noah and I are very excited (yes!) to present this story to you and we hope you will give it a chance. Hopefully it will bring some holiday cheer in this season that has a lot of people depressed, even more than usual.

“Mele Kalikimaka!”
B.G. Thomas

PS: Scroll down beneath the Buy Links for a little more “Mele Kalikimaka” cheer!

Buy Links:
Dreamspinner Press
Amazon
Amazon UK
B&N
ARe

…and for a HAWT Bette(r) version (maybe)…

Leave a Reply

