And the Winners for the “Blue” Contest Are….

I want to thank everyone who entered my contest for Blue. I hope you think it was a fun idea. I did! Maybe I will do one for Red? Just because I got such ingenious submissions? And gosh, oh, gosh it was hard to decide! I mean I got some great ones!

The ones I liked the best were the ones that were somehow personal, a real favorite thing of the submitter, or came with a neat explanation or a personal touch. One person even made a collage of all my book covers that had the color blue in them and for some reason I am not sure of, it turns out there are quite a few of them.

One submitter wrote something lovely and I loved her ideas…but the post for the contest did say you have to follow the rules and the rules were asking for pictures, so I couldn’t chose her.

Two people were imaginative enough to submit videos, one that was personally made and the other because it in a way fit the theme. But in the end I felt I had to go with actual pictures.

Again it was killer choosing only five and in the end I went with five and a special additional one! And he has every single book I have written so I didn’t have to give him a prize! LOL! But I sure wanted people to see it! Thank goodness I didn’t have to go with just one!

And so the winners are, not in order….

A Doctor Who teapot from Serena S. She was the very first person to submit, she loves Doctor Who, so it said something about her, and finally my husband loves Doctor all of his life. He goes way back, long before the current series, and in fact it took him a little while to warm up with it because he loved the camp and the bad costumes and everything else about it! I figured if the Doctor Who teapot wasn’t one of the winners, I might be sleeping on the couch! LOL!

Next was from Wendy and it is her granddaughter. This one really got me because she was sharing something very personal! And the picture is quite magickal. I had to go with it!

Next…it is the car of Kat’s dreams. “The car I always wanted, a ’56 Chevy Nomad!” This made it magickally personal and I found even I was in love with the car!

And then comes a lovely picture from Terri of two young men underwater kissing and young love makes my heart soar! Reminds me of my story Someday from my anthology A More Perfect Union. She says of her picture, “Nice things happen in Blue water!” So sweet!

And how could I not chose a penis? I am a gay man. What’s more I am a gay man who is fascinated with Rome and Greece and have been for as long as I can remember. And I love blue glass. So when Natalie submitted this “A rare c. 1800 Bristol blue glass antique phallus,.” why that was it! “The Georgian antique phallic model resembles the exaggerated shape of the Imperial Roman examples that were being found contemporaneously in the excavations of Herculaneum and Pompeii. The antique penis is 11″ long”. Eleven inches? I mean, I’m not a size queen! But I do love their husbands!

And finally, there is Chris’s collage of my book covers! He doesn’t win because he is the runner up (and he already has all my books) but with all the work he obviously spent a long time on this, I had to share it! Thank you Chris! You are wonderful!

This winners get a copy of Blue or if they already have it, anything from my backlog. Congrats!

Thanks to all who submitted including Tarri, Oor, JoEllen, Nell (loved your bird story), Give a Rose (what a green house!), Lynn, Patricia, Geoffrey, Angela (if there was one more winner, it would have been you!), Marinieves, Tanja (loved your Delft Blue Porcelain and your reason for submitting it!), Sarajane, Sula, Chris, Andrea, Josie, Katie and Noah.

And now I want to show you a variety of other pictures that were submitted. There were so many nice ones! What did I get myself into here! Having to turn down some of these? OMGosh!

Peace and love!
BG “Ben” Thomas

5 thoughts on “And the Winners for the “Blue” Contest Are….

  1. Congrats to the winners. Who can argue with a giant blue glass you-know-what? (don’t want to get caught in the spam filter because I use dirty words if you’re wondering why I didn’t just write what I meant) šŸ˜€

    I absolutely adore Red, so I’d participate if you decide to do it again, because I loved the contest. It was fun and original! šŸ™‚

    • I loved your Mountain Bluebird so very very much. If I could have had one or two more winners…. (((HUGS))) and thank you for participating!

  2. What a super collection of pics. Thank you so much for loving the car and for the book! I admit I’m dying to have that blue greenhouse. Can a greenhouse be blue? *snirk*

  3. Yay, thanks for choosing my pic of the sweet young swimmers! You did get some gorgeous submissions. I’m very excited to read Blue, as your work always gets me in the feels! šŸ’™šŸ˜Š

Leave a Reply

